Skip to content
July 17, 2011 / saniday

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows 2 Review

Harry Potter’s last movie premiered in Georgia at 14th of July, on the day of my final exam, which was a big relief, obviously.

Since then  I’ve seen it twice. I’m planning to go again around 25th to see it in English (we get Russian dubs and only one English screening if  we’re lucky)

I have to say I’m pretty much delighted with it, it made me cry, it made me laugh and I had this strange feeling when I first came out of the theatre, it’s like when you don’t really know what to feel, but you know something important is ending.

People react to Harry Potter pretty harshly here, not many understand how important part this saga can take in your life, especially if you started reading it since you were eleven and grew up with Harry, Ron and Hermione in this magical little world, like I did.

***

I’ll try to sum up pros and cons of the whole thing:

Pros:

  • I enjoyed those gorgeous landscape scenes as always, Dragon flight, Hogwarts surrounded by demontors and so on)
  • Shell cottage was exactly as I pictured it, very lovely.
  • chronology sort of followed the course as it was supposed to.
  • Helena Bonham Carter playing Hermione playing Bellatrix was DAMN HILARIOUS!
  • Aberforth was okay, not exactly how I thought he’d turn out to be, but still, I liked him.
  • Big respects for Maggie Smith who was sick and could barely stand because of Chemotherapy, but she held herself and wrapped the whole thing perfectly, that woman is amazing and brilliant McGonagall!
  • Pensive memories were done really well, I guess those who haven’t read the whole thing, make something out of it, what happened and all.
  • Alan Rickman, you awesome human being, I am so glad that I’ve met you live and have your autograph. You dashing actor, if I could I’d have awarded you with Oscar already, same goes to Ralph Fiennes for his splendid performance, god you guys are amazing.
  • Two words: VOLDIE’S LAUGHTER!
  • Come to the dark side, we give free hugs, god that scene was awkward and poor Draco, lol. Tom is adorable ^
  • Warwick Davis is awesome cos he portrayed Flitwick perfectly for ages and now he got to be a bad guy/goblin, too ^
  • we got to see a lot of Neville scenes, how brave and funny he is and he’s mad about Luna, which is so awesome! (Matt is hot, haha)
  • Hogwart’s battle was okay, at least most of it and I’m glad they didn’t cut out “Not my daughter, you bitch” scene, you go Mrs. Weasley!
  • Just glad to see old students, especially that Seamus line about finding “something somewhere” xD
  • Forest scene was okay, close to what I portrayed and enjoed Dumbledore/Harry scene at King’s Cross, especially how Harry kept stepping on poor man’s cloack in every 20 seconds )))
  • I just want to thank the trio, Emma, Rupert and Harry for portraying our favourite characters for so many years now, you guys are awesome.
  • 19 years later was lovely, trio with Ginny looked awesome, cool kids and all but I have to say Draco really looked older than his father lol and no blue haired Teddy Lupin, which is pity (

Cons:

  • First of all, I don’t understand why we didn’t see ANY Tom Riddle scenes, cos those who haven’t read the books would probably have no idea how horcruxes were created, plus think about how awesome it would’ve been to see Marvolo’s hause and get a little glimpse to young Tom’s hot father and her witch mother.
  • There wasn’t any death scene of Fred, at least it didn’t seem like one, but there were worse things.
  • Ron/Hermione kiss was stupid, no mention of the elves, plus it was unexpected not in a right place and well, I don’t know about others but I really didn’t like it.
  • Why were so many bloody Death Eaters? Really, though. that scene when they’re trying to break the protection, they’re like so many of them which seemed not close to the book at all, I mean I get that giants arrived and other people from different countries but that many? Surreal. Plus bridge scene with Neville and Scabior, those Snatchers were more than 300, what the butt?! p.s. Scabior is damn hot ^____^
  • When Hagrid carries “dead” Harry out of the forest, Neville is supposed to go up to Voldie, which he sort of did but kill Nagini at once, unexpectedly, and then Harry is supposed to rise and start duelling with Voldie in a circle of wizards but instead, silly David Yates decided it would’ve been much cleverer to make them run after each other and play fucking hide and sick in this huge ruined castle which was utterly STUPID! God, that was so silly and then nagini ran after Ron and Hermione, WUT?! At last Neville killed him *phew*

I guess that’s it, sorry for being so picky but that’s what happens when you create a movie according  to the book with huge, caring fandom ^

This meant a lot to us guys, this was our bloody childhood and some of us started reading  books generally because of Harry Potter, so get used to it being a big thing.  Ten years, TEN BLOODY YEARS.

Thank you, Jo, thanks a lot  for creating this magical, splendind world for me which helped me with my fantazy and deciding how I should lead my life.

I can’t wait to get one book at a time as a present for my children when they turn eleven.  I bet they’ll love it.

I bet they’ll be as thankful and delighted as I am wiritng this right now when I’m eighteen.

Good luck to you my reader and remember, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ☼ Sani / Jul 17 2011 11:01 pm
  2. Luna / Jul 18 2011 12:55 pm

    hey… I’ve seen already twice … just love it… :love: :love: I didn’t like Ron/Hermione kiss much ang agree battle scene was kinda stupid… nice review.. good luck : :*

    • ☼ Sani / Jul 18 2011 2:01 pm

      Hey, thanks for the comment
      glad you agree
      of course there always are some scenes that some people don’t like.
      but in overall, it was quite good ❤ ^_^

  3. Andy / Jan 9 2012 9:19 pm

    You wrote my exact thoughts! I was supposed to feel really emotional after seeing the last film of HP by I didn’t so I had to pretend it was emotional 😀 I felt a lot more affecting my HP and the prizoner of Azkaban than this one!
    P.S Scabior IS hot! :)) the actor’s name is nick moran and you HAVE to see him in Lock Stock And Two Smoking Barrels. He’s even hotter :))))

    • saniday / Jan 10 2012 12:49 am

      Oh thanks ^ glad you agree
      Nick IS hot and that’s a damn good movie xD

Leave a Reply

